Friday Favourites #34: Week of 12/4

Good Morning and Happy Friday to you! Do you have any fun plans this weekend?

When this goes live, I’ll be back in Canada after almost three months away in Germany. It’s very bittersweet to leave, but unfortunately it has to be done since I didn’t have a visa. In today’s favourites, I wanted to talk about some of my favourites from my time away.

If you’re interested in seeing other people’s favourites, you head to Heather or Katie‘s blog for the link ups!

Friday Favourites #34: Week of 12/4Friday Favs Winter

My number one favourite thing was getting to spend so much time with Matthias. We had gone 4 months in the summer without seeing each other yet it felt like no time had passed when we were back in the same place. I am so lucky and grateful to have such an amazing guy in my life. 12026693_10156709081765377_1594188582_n

I also am very grateful of Matthias’ parents. They have both been very welcoming towards me. Before coming to Germany, I was nervous about meeting his parents. However, I really had no need to be nervous. His mom is one of the most caring people I know. I can see where Matthias gets that from now. Almost every day, she would have a little treat in the afternoon for us (or just me if Matthias was at work.) From her apple cake to a traditional almond cake, there weren’t many times where I had any problems finishing what she had.

Besides the great company I had, Germany was also the first time that I really experienced a different culture. Before coming here, I hadn’t left North America and the only places I had been was the Canadian East Coast and Boston in the US. This was the first time I was in a country where I couldn’t understand what was being said. I’m happy I was able to experience Germany’s culture as well as getting a taste of Norway and Sweden’s culture during our short trips there. 12053345_10156764127390377_1835438372_nI also really enjoyed the Christmas Market we went to. It reminded me a little bit of a local Christmas sale that is put on back home. Even though I wasn’t able to enjoy one of the more famous ones, I had a good time at the second one we went to that was a little less crowded. 12325395_10156938364370377_1358471691_nFinally, I liked how easy it is to travel once you’re in Europe. Germany is kind of the center of everything so it made going to Norway and Sweden pretty simple. Prices to get to other cities or countries in Europe are a lot cheaper than if you were flying to Europe from North America obviously.

Overall, I had a really good time in Germany. Even though some days were tough being away from my family in Canada, I am so glad I came here. I’ve learned a lot about myself in my time away too.

Anyways, that’s all for me today! Enjoy your weekend and I’ll pop back in on Sunday to share another editions of Weekly Meal Plan!


Have you ever left the country for an extended period of time?

What’s been your favourite place you’ve traveled too?

 

Leave a Reply

