Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Good Morning!

I don’t usually post on Tuesdays, but I wanted to get this recipe up today. Late last week I was wanting to do some baking so I could use up some of the food I have here in Germany that I know Matthias probably won’t eat. From that baking experiment, this recipe came to be!

I have to apologize before the recipe because I only have one picture of the cookies, but nonetheless I hope you give these a try! They aren’t very sweet; however, they still taste delicious. If you make them, I would love to know how they turned out!

Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

12277108_10156925467280377_2017013093_n

Ingredients for 11 cookies:

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp rolled oats (100g)
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour (28g)
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (130g)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted (52g)
  • 2 rounded tbsp sugar (30g)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (55g)
  • 1 tsp baking powder (4g)
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla (7g)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (4g)
  • 1/4 cup rounded dark chocolate (50g) + extra for drizzle

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375F (190C) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Mix the oats, flour, egg whites, and melted coconut oil.
  3. Add sugar, applesauce, baking powder, vanilla, and chia seeds.
  4. Mix until everything is combined.
  5. Fold in chocolate (mine was in a bar so I chopped it before adding, but if you’re using chips you can ignore the chopping.)
  6. Roll dough into 11 balls, placing them on the baking sheet.
  7. The dough doesn’t spread so make sure to flatten a little bit.
  8. Bake for 10-14 (mine took 12) minutes. You want them to be a little golden.
  9. Leave on tray to cool (if you try to move them to quickly, they can fall apart.)
  10. For the drizzle, melt your chocolate (I did mine in the microwave so I added some coconut oil to it) then using a spoon, drizzle away!

And there you have it! These cookies are simple to make and are a little less sweet than most cookies. They received a stamp of approval from my boyfriend so I say that’s a plus!

Let me know if you give these a try!

Leave a Reply

