thinking out loud #2

Good afternoon folks!

I don’t usually post on Thursdays, but there’s a couple things I need to work through and writing (or in this case typing) it out usually helps. Since this may not make any sense and I’m not sure how well put together this post is going to be, I figured I may as well post it as a Thinking Out Loud post.

Amanda runs this great link up that allows you to write down your thoughts whether or not they actually make sense. Head over to see more at Running With SpoonsThinking-Out-Loud

The first think on my mind is self hosting. As you can tell by my URL, I am using the free version of WordPress and have been since I started this little blog a couple of years ago. Recently, I’ve been toying with the idea of using Bluehost and changing to self hosting. I’ve actually had the payment page open for over a week mulling over the idea.

I’ve been researching for about a month about the process of changing to self hosting. Since coming to Germany, I’ve really enjoyed having a place to share what it’s been like and just overall enjoyed blogging more than before. I’m worried that this might only be phase (I really hope it isn’t) and that I’ll grow out of it after a couple months. I know going through Bluehost isn’t going to cost an arm and a leg, but I worry that I’ll stop wanting to blog and then just be spending money for nothing.

I do know all the benefits of self hosting since I have been doing a lot of research. Everything I’ve learned seems really great and awesome. There’s also days where I’m unsure of the blog name I’ve chosen. I’m worried that in the future, what I blog about won’t match the name. Thinking about that, I know I don’t post a lot of fitness related things anyways, but it makes me wonder if I should have named it something else. I still really love the name though! As mentioned above, I am aware of all the pros of self hosting, I guess it’s the cons that are holding me back.

The other topic I wanted to talk about is motivation. The past couple of weeks, I haven’t really felt motivated to workout. Before going to bed most nights, I’ll think about what I’m going to do for my workout in the morning and I’ll get really excited, but once I wake up that motivation is gone. In the past, I’d push myself to do the workout anyways and I’d snap out of whatever mindset I was in pretty quickly. However now, that isn’t the case. I did have a few really good workout last week and this week, but it’s those bad ones that I keep focusing on.

Anyways, that’s all for me today. For those that read through this, I really appreciate it. Sometimes getting your thoughts out of your head and down somewhere can help.

I’ll be back tomorrow to share some of my recent favourites. There will be a new lower body workout as well that I did earlier in the week that was really good!


What do you do when you’re lacking motivation?

Do you ever doubt yourself? 

3 thoughts on “thinking out loud #2

  1. I went back and forth on the idea of going self-hosted for a long time as well, but it’s honestly something I’ve never regretted doing. If you’re worried about seeing it through in the ing run, I actually found that going self-hosted made blogging feel a lot more legit and helped me take it a little more seriously.

Leave a Reply

