MIMM #13 : #CBMF2014

Good Afternoon! I have a confession to make. I had all intentions of writing this up over the weekend, yet here I find myself on Monday morning and I haven’t started yet. I don’t like making excuses so I’m not going to.

I thought I would link up with Katie for a MIMM post and a recap of Cavendish Beach Music Festival (only a week late).

The Cavendish Beach Music Festival is held yearly in Cavendish, PEI. They have been putting on the festival since 2009. This was the first time I had gone and I will definitely be back. The headliners were to be Lady Antebellum, Blake Shelton, and Hunter Hayes. There were also to be performances by Brett Kissel, Darius Rucker, Blackjack Billy, Dean Brody, and many others.

Day 1 – Friday, July 4th

I woke up early Friday to go to the gym, run some last minute errands and pack. I picked up my two friends and we were off to the island. We were staying with one of my friends in Charlottetown (about 45 minutes from Cavendish). We made it there around lunch time. After unloading and grabbing some food, we were off! My friend we were staying with worked until 6 so was going to head there after she was done with one of her friends.

We arrived in Cavendish around 2:30 or 3 and were ready to get started. Brett Kissel was the first person we knew of and he was starting at 4 so we hung out and walked around the festival until around 3:30. We wanted to get close so we headed down to the stage at the point. We were the second row before the barriers so we were happy with our spots. David Nail was suppose to perform after Brett Kissel, but couldn’t make it so Brett ended up playing later.

Brett Kissel is UNREAL! I wasn’t sure if I would know most of his songs, but was so happy when I did. After his set, he did a meet and greet. By the time we go up to the Merch Tent, the line was super long. Instead of waiting, we went and got food. We ended up meeting up with my friend and her friend. We were having a good time and before we knew it, it was almost 8. A few of us decided to head to the charging station to charge our phones. That was a huge fail! There was no spots left. As we walked up, we saw that the line to meet Brett was super short so we decided to do that. He is one of the nicest people I’ve met. He’s also a lot shorter than I thought he would be. I got him to sign my gym card because I didn’t have anything else and we took a selfie together

10538524_10154405136760377_7012493025311904512_n

10489837_10154405136770377_3269995047002654186_n

We were heading down for Lady A, but waited a little too long to go so we weren’t that close. They were still amazing! I always have liked them, but after seeing them perform, I love them! The picture below is the best one that turned out.

We got back to the parking lot around 11, finally made it out at 12, were back in Charlottetown around 1, and finally went to bed at 2:30.

Day #2 – Saturday, July 5th

Saturday was eventful to say the least. There was a wind warning and rain warning thanks to Hurricane Arthur in effect. Before leaving Charlottetown, we heard they were delaying opening the gates until 1 so we got there around 1:30. We then heard they were going to wait until 2:30. As we were waiting, it got pushed back to 5! Our group decided we were going to go eat somewhere and waste some time. We had already heard that Darius Rucker was going to be able to make, but were still hopeful about Blake Shelton. While eating, we saw he couldn’t make it either. We decided at this point to head back to Charlottetown since we weren’t really interested in seeing the three other acts. We were almost back, when we heard that the whole day was cancelled. For most of us, Blake was who we really went to see so we were pretty sad that we weren’t able to see him. Instead of feeling sad, we had some drinks and played some games. My friend Karly and I were beer pong and flip cup champs! It was nice to have a fun night after such a disappointing day.

Day 3 – Sunday, July 6th

After a fun night Saturday, we were all ready to go listen to some more music and make memories. We made it to Cavendish around 1 and hung out in the licenced area until about 3:30. At this point, me and my friend wanted to grab food then head down to the stage for Blackjack Billy. We weren’t able to get that close, but as the acts went on, we were able to get a little closer. Blackjack Billy were really good. They’re more of like a redneck, rocker type country if that makes sense. After them, Dean Brody played and he was unreal. After them, was when all the girls started swooning. It was time for Hunter Hayes! I was a really big fan when he first started, but haven’t really listened to his new stuff that much. He is super talented, he plays guitar, piano, drums, and can sing really well. He changed guitars probably 10 times throughout his set. All in all, it was a great day! I couldn’t get any good pictures of Blackjack Billy, but here’s some from Dean Brody and Hunter Hayes.

So jealous of this girl!

10530746_10154405231120377_6724368774793977916_n

Last weekend was hands down the best weekend of my life! I was so lucky to spend time with some of my friends and to meet some new ones!

I hope everyone has a great Monday and I’ll be back on Wednesday with a look at my eats from today!

Leave a Reply

